collegiate corner

• Emily Sokol of Collierville has graduated from the Mercer University College of Liberal Arts with a Bachelor of Science degree.

• Amelia Beckham of Germantown, a graduate of Evangelical Christian School, has been named to the Dean's List for the spring 2019 semester at Baldwin Wallace University. She is majoring in music theatre.

• Several local residents have been named to the Baylor University Dean's Academic Honor List for the spring 2019 semester. Collierville residents named to the list include: Lilac Cao Ding, College of Arts and Sciences; Susanna Jessica Hamsley, Robbins School of Health and Human Sciences; Sarah Seul Kim, College of Arts and Sciences; Courtney Grace Miller, Hankamer School of Business; Kendall G Sewell, College of Arts and Sciences.

• Collierville's Susanna Jessica Hamsley has received a degree in Bachelor of Science in Education, Health Science Studies from Baylor University.

• A total of 11,406 students enrolled during the 2019 spring term at The University of Alabama were named to the Dean's List with an academic record of 3.5 or above or the President's List with an academic record of 4.0 (all A's). The following Collierville residents were named to the President's List: Grace Ashbery, Marley Bennett, Karin Britt, Ellen Brown, Julia Clancy, Samantha Covin, Sabrina Curley, Jakub Denkiewicz, Param Deo, Vanessa Christensen, Swathi Prasad, Lucas Simcoe, Trevor Scott, Andrew Devall, Sai Pranav Dwarampudi, Dylan Echlin, Daniel Hayes, Nicholas Hayes, Alysse Hoelmer, Tatum Nix, Zachary Holloway, Emily Hunter, Benjamin Leonard, Keerthana Manoj, Andrew Morgan, Jared Morley, Dharmenkumar Patel, Abigail Murphy and Samuel Stoner. The following Collierville residents were named to the Deans List: Clay Austell, Austin Brannstrom, Nathan Buckler, Jared Burns, Emma Capitanelli, Mark Conlee, Morgan Cox, Zachary Davis, Caelan Douglas, Mackenzie Hollis, Tessa Holloway, Steven Kittleson, Walker Lamberth, Alan Li, Conner Lind, James Lindsay, Jackson Munyon, Alexis Oliver, Christian Phouasalith, Jacob Rast, Matthew Rozanski, James Seagraves, Jonathan Simcoe, Jessica Smith, Natalie Vande Linde, Lauren Webber, James Williams and William Wolf.

• Miami University students who are ranked in the top three percent of undergraduate students within each division for second semester 2018-19 have been named to the president's list recognizing academic excellence. Germantown's Lexi Gelinas and Austin Gelinas were named to the list.

• Robert Mihalko of Germantown made the Dean's List for the Spring 2019 semester at the Georgia Institute of Technology. This designation is awarded to undergraduate students who have a 3.0 or higher academic average for the semester.

• Meredith Geyer of Germantown was named to the McKendree University President's List for achieving a perfect 4.0 grade point average for the spring 2019 semester.

• Katheryn Ann Hansen of Collierville has been named to the Dean's List at Clemson University.

• Four Germantown students have been named to the Dean's List at Clemson University for the spring 2019 semester.

They are: Chase Bryson Bailey, whose major is Bioengineering, Alexander E. Creson, whose major is Bioengineering, Audrey Towers Muscari, whose major is Agribusiness, and Emily Y. Shores, whose major is Health Science.

• Paul Raddatz of Collierville graduated magna cum laude with a BSBA Accounting during May commencement ceremonies at Clarion University of Pennsylvania.

• The Georgia Institute of Technology presented degrees to approximately 3,800 undergraduate and graduate students during the Institute's 257th Commencement exercises. Local students include: Rahul Ajmera, Bachelor of Science in Computer Science, Matthew Hunter, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering, Robert Mihalko, Bachelor of Science in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Kelsey Pepper, Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Engineering, and Rebecca Zielinski, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering.

• Mary Collins of Collierville and MaKray Odom of the Trevecca Nazarene University softball team were recognized once again, this time with a selection to the 2019 Division II CCA All-American Softball Second Team. Collins is a graduate of Houston High School. She is pursuing a degree in business administration at Trevecca.